THE LINK | Participants

The participants in each of the four programs will be recognized experts selected and invited by The Link in conjunction with the respective department(s) of KGUMSB. The specialists will teach and train in areas determined to be of educational benefit to the
residents and consultants, areas of current knowledge and understanding, as well as topics on the horizon and cutting edge of medicine.
These specialists will be outstanding and well-recognized for their expertise. They will be participating independently and will not be associated with a designated center or institution. The participants will be self-funded for transportation, immunizations, medical insurance, lodging, and meals. There will be no compensation for services. No funding will be dispersed by KGUMSB, the Ministry of Health of the Kingdom of Bhutan, or Opportunity for Life, Inc.

The participants in The Link Bhutan will be affiliated with a variety of institutions from numerous locations and will reflect the expanding specialty of obstetrics and gynecology.
The anticipated areas of expertise will include general obstetrics and gynecology, minimally invasive gynecologic surgery, gynecologic oncology, maternal fetal medicine, reproductive endocrinology and infertility, female pelvic medicine and reconstructive surgery, urogynecology, pediatric and adolescent gynecology, family planning, critical care medicine, neonatology, pediatric infectious disease, anesthesiology, in addition to other areas related to obstetrics and gynecology.

*This list is updated periodically.

General Obstetrics and Gynecology

Bradley J. Bruggeman, M.D.

Judy Levison, M.D.

Connie Mao, M.D.

Ross W. McQuivey, M.D.

Susan D. Reed, M.D., MPH, MS

Professor Gerhard Theron

Gynecologic Oncology

Barbara A. Goff, M.D.

Maternal Fetal Medicine

Michael A. Belfort, M.D.

D. Ware Branch, M.D.

Erin A. S. Clark, M.D.

Susan Dalton, M.D.

Michelle P. Debbink, M.D.

Gary A. Dildy, M.D., FACOG, CPHQ, CPPS

Lorraine Dugoff, M.D.

Lexi Eller, M.D.

M. Sean Esplin, M.D.

Helen Feltovich, M.D.

Michael R. Foley, M.D.

Meena Khandelwal, M.D.

Torri D. Metz, M.D.

Martha W. F. Rac, M.D.

Alireza A. Shamshirsaz, M.D.

Amir A. Shamshirsaz, M.D.

Lauren H. Theilen, M.D.

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery

Nichole Mahnert, M.D.

Heath Miller, M.D.

Jamal Mourad, D.O.

Brooke Thigpen, M.D., FACOG

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility

Shawn W. Gurtcheff, M.D.

Christopher N. Herndon, M.D.


A. Jolyn Hill, M.D.

Gretchen Lentz, M.D.

Ingrid E. Nygaard, M.D.


Matthew M. Andoniadis, M.D.

Tammy Y. Euliano, M.D.

Internal Medicine

Nina Tan, M.D.


Kathleen A. Pennington, Ph.D.

Bhutan Leadership Academy

Michael R. Foley, M.D.

Idahlynn Karre, Ph.D.

Daniel O'Keeffe, M.D.

Bhutan Symposium Gender Dysphoria


President Dr. Kinzang P. Tshering

Dr. Tshokey

Dr. Sonam


Dr. Pema Choden Bhutia

Dr. Bikram Chhetri

Dr. Kuenzang Chhezom

Julia Mason, M.S., M.D.

Heath Miller, M.D.

Monique Robles, M.D., M.S. Bioethics

Dr. Chuni Selden

Dr. Puja Subedi

Dr. Karma Tenzin

Dr. Tshokey

Dr. Ugyen Tshomo

Dr. Phurpa Wangdi

Dr. Sonam Wangmo

Dr. Cheni Zangmo


Linda Blade, ChPC, Ph.D.

Erin Brewer, Ph.D

Patrick J. Byrne, BA, BTheol

Shubham Gupta, M.D.

Paul W. Hruz, M.D., Ph.D.

Riittakerttu Kaltiala, MD, PhD, BSc

Stephen B. Levine, M.D.

Lisa Littman, M.D., M.P.H.

Stella O’Malley, M.A.

Julia Mason, M.S., M.D.

Rachel Morrison, J.D.

Rachel Pope, M.D., M.P.H.

Monique Robles, M.D., M.S. Bioethics

Dr. Chuni Selden

Anastassis Spiliadis, Doctoral Cand., MSc, B.A.

Dr. Phurpa Wangdi

John Whitehall, M.D.

Kenneth J. Zucker, Ph.D., C. Psych